"Somebody stop him! He took my strappy sandals!" --C. B.

There is a horrible feeling that accompanies being stolen from. It’s a mixture of fear, sadness, rage, general anger, and vulnerability (Fadnessangrageability? Whatever). It’s even worse when it seems like no one else is concerned.

Sometime last week, a student stole my iPod. It was in my desk drawer (in the corner of my room) while I was out helping with interviews for an open position in our school. Another professional was assigned to my room…yet, my goods are gone. What made it worse was that the stupid position couldn’t even be filled due to a deadline that had elapsed before we started interviewing. Talk about 38-hot! I didn’t realize the theft for a few days, because I thought maybe I had taken it home and misplaced it. It wasn’t confirmed until a student made a general mention of it. Grrrr……….

When Carrie’s famous, or infamous, experience with a robbery happened in Season 3’s “What Goes Around Comes Around”, the most memorable part for me besides the line itself was that when she expressed her outrage to a room of people, they continued on with their daily activities without batting an eyelash. None of the employees or customers of that nail place cared, and it wasn’t until her friend arrived that she got any type of support.

When my iPod was stolen, I was more than irritated. I was upset that I didn’t even have to be out of the room, and upset that everyone in authority over me seemed to have a “Really? Wow…that sucks,” type of attitude. It wasn’t until a friend, who happens to be the officer in the building was informed that things began to happen. What was even worse was that a student saw, but will not tell because he said “It breaks the code, and I ain’t no snitch!” #poppycock

Have you been stolen from? How did you feel? What did you do?

I tells ya, it was a rough week or so. Sorry for being so gone, but as you can see…this has been some foolishness. Yay for spring break though. It feels great to be home ๐Ÿ™‚

Love,

–V

