Like anyone else near the southeast…and northeast for that matter…I am snowed in.

If you’re in Jersey, New York, Chicago, etc…this might not be a big deal for you, but the south is shut down. I can’t go anywhere (albeit, this was an excellent week off work), and am starting to get a bit cabin feverish. I attempted to make a snowperson (my first one ever!), and a snow angel. That got me through the first day, but now I want human-to-human contact.

My Snowteen, Ivory

 

This got me thinking about winter boos. This term was popularized by Helena Andrews, and used to describe a person of the opposite sex kept around during the colder seasons for companionship and random chores. I’m thinking that because of the stay-inside thing that is going on due to the weather, Metro-Atlanta might be dealing with a baby-boom come November.

But, I digress. What if a lot of the reason that people start to break up in the Spring is because they never really meshed in the fall? Look at Carrie and Aleksandr Petrovsky. They were perfectly fine in the winter. Sure, a few misunderstandings that were ultimately looked over because, hey, who wants to be alone in the cold? But what about when there are no horse drawn carriages to rent, and no cappucinos to make. Then what? It’s you and him, and nothing else. Do you still mesh then?

A few friends of mine have been talking to me about this guy or that guy who “kind of gets on their nerves,” but they’ll wait and see what happens. If he’s getting on your nerves now, isn’t that odds that he still will be when it’s time for the world to see your toes again? I say yes. If you’re in a Winter Boo situation, call it what it is.

What do you think?

Love,

–V

P.S. Happy Founder’s Day to the illustrious Divas of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority!! Oo-Oop!

