I officially go back to work tomorrow. This is mildly depressing for me, though I am thankful that I have a job.

So instead of bemoaning the loss of my summer and freedom, I’m going to recount the amazing things that happened this summer, because trust me I didn’t see them coming. I was just having a conversation with a friend that reminded me of how we both were concerned about my summer. The “free time” could have been heartwrenching so soon after a break-up. Now, I’m like, “Can I just have two more weeks???”

1. Making new friends. I made more acquaintances in the past two months or so than I have in the entire time I’ve lived in Georgia. I even strengthened an acquaintance to a full-fledged friendship. Trust me, girl, I wouldn’t have made it without you this year. This doesn’t take away from my existing friendships…it actually added to them.

2. Attempting things I was afraid of. Make-up artistry is a passion of mine, and this year I was really able to make it happen.

3. Shopping. I mean, this really didn’t change from before, but that doesn’t mean I enjoyed it any less.

4. Self-worth Reality. I got to see me for who I am as an individual, not who I am out of a couple. Let me tell you…I’ve probably gained a few points as an individual.

5. Making Mistakes. While I won’t go into detail, the mistakes I made this summer allowed me to understand my thought process, and the pain that doesn’t necessarily bother me daily is still there.

6. The cruise. Enough said.

7. Being more involved in activities. This was my busiest summer yet, and I loved every second of it. My wallet may not have, but I sure did.

8. Last but not least, strengthening and renewing my relationship with God. It’s like, when you know you’re in the wrong, you avert your eyes. There were a lot of things I was in the wrong for relationship-wise, and I knew it. I was trying to “wait it out” hoping that once it was righted, then I could pick back up with God where I left off. God basically gave me a “wheretheydothatat?” I know…I know.

So, those of you in jobs where you don’t really get summers off that sucks may not understand this, but before a new school year, I always reflect on the last. If this year has any of the improvements of the summer, I’m looking forward to it (figuratively…not actually. I just want to sleep in again tomorrow).

Love,

-V

