Before I get started, let me say that this week is the final week of my quarter, and I am finishing a research proposal. I am almost done.  Yay me.

Okay, now on with it. I decided to do a little series on my favorite things, but to break them down by character. So these are items that I own that remind me of a character on the show. Charlotte is up first, because she was easiest to categorize.

My Favorite Things: Charlotte

So here we have ribbon and pearl necklace by New York & Company, Sarah Jessica Parker’s “Lovely” Eau de Parfum, Parisienne Satin and Crepe Platform Shoes by Christian Louboutin, MAC Victorian Lipstick and Prrr Lipglass, Evian Atomizer, a random printed headband, Paolo Giraffe Print shoes, Zoya’s Sally nail polish, and a card from my best friend.

  • It seems like when SJP made “Lovely,” it was to fit a Charlotte-esque type of girl. It is very soft and feminine without being flowery or fruity (both of which I hate in perfume). This is my favorite spring/summery scent. And the feminine shape of the bottle seems like it should belong on a dainty vanity.
  • Those giraffe print shoes just make me happy. I remember when I bought them on sale at Nordstrom…oh what a happy day that was. The neutrality of the print make them very conservative, but interesting.
  • These beauty items and this accessory always make me feel very lady-like. Most people see that lipstick, Victorian, in the tube and are thinking, “Oh no brown girl.” It is very Barbie pink with a light golden frost. It’s all about the lipglass layered over it (Which is where Prrr comes in), and the right lipliner. I find that whenever I’m wearing that combination, I feel so girly. The pearls do the same thing…there is enough hardwear to be interesting, but the ribbons add interest for me. I love them 🙂
  • Zoya’s Sally is very neutral. It is a beige/pink. It just seems to be the nail polish I’m going for when I want my nails to look sophisticated. I couldn’t imagine Charlotte with the bright Robin’s egg blue I have going on my nails and toes right now.
  • That headband is random, but I think it speaks for itself.
  • The Evian mister seems to be something that calls people to look at me with the side-eye whenever I pull it out. They say things like “You spent money on that?” Well, yes I did. And guess what, I am now no longer sweltering, while you are. So there.
  • The Lubu’s just scream posh chic. I could never imagine any of the other girls in them except Charlotte. Am I right?
  • That card from my friend was sent to me a few days after my breakup. Accompanying it was a box of goodies because she couldn’t be with me at the time. Even though I think the act itself is more Carrie, the sweetness of it is Charlotte. That’s why I love her.

                    

So here are my favorite “Charlotte” things. What do you think?

Love,

-V

