This past Sunday, I was exceptionally late for church, and the usher tried to embarrass me lead me to a seat on the second row at the front. There were three seats on the end, and a younger girl occupied the next one, but she and her mom sat their things on the third chair. They were scrambling to move them, but I said not to worry about it and to leave their things as they were. As I settled in to the music, another person was seated next to me. I turned to look at him, and he was gorgeous. Threw me off a bit.

As we sat down, the young lady next to me tapped my shoulder and asked if I had dropped my sunshades. After shaking me head in the negative, she said, “Would you ask him?” as she handed the shades to me. I turned and said, “Excuse me, but did you drop these?’ He answered me saying, “Yes ma’am. Thank you very much.” He had a deep southern drawl that sounded odd…like a mix of the deep south and military influences. Almost immediately, I thought he sounded like Louis from Louisiana from “Anchors Away”. 

Louis from Louisiana

Louis from Louisiana

A Navy gentleman

Louis showed up and was a perfect gentleman after Carrie had a particularly bad day with her “boyfriend,” the city of New York. He was nice, cute, and polite…just enough charm to shake her out of a bad day. Now granted, I wasn’t having a bad day, and even though I’m doing better day by day, my ended relationship has not been far from my mind. Anyway, Carrie’s conversation with Louis reaffirmed her relationship with her city, and while she appreciated him for it, she was happy to walk away.

How many great loves do you get in a lifetime?

This guy was enchanting. I had to talk to him a couple of times during the service, but could not bring myself to say anything else. He just seemed like a genuinely good person. And, even though my best friend thinks otherwise, maybe I wasn’t supposed to talk to him. Maybe it is just time to let these feelings happen to help me put life into perspective.  Or maybe, I’m a chicken.

How do I do this? I have a stranger-aversion, and am not sure what to say. It could come off all awkward and embarrassing. So ultimately, I let him walk away. I guess I’m not ready for this…or maybe I’m still in love. Can’t redecorate when you are holding on to old furniture. I just need time. Like Carrie said at the end of this episode, “Maybe the past is like an anchor holding us back. You have to let go of who you were to become who you will be.”

"I can't have nobody talking sh*t about my boyfriend." --Carrie

Love,

-V

