I met a man today.

Well, a man met me. I was in the mall grabbing some lunch so that I could continue with my errands for the day, and he walked up to me and said, “Excuse me. Would you have dinner with me sometime?” I was shocked, and surprised. I was in bummy running errand clothes: jeans, t-shirt, flats, messy bun, and mascara. The phone calls to friends about this occurence was met with squeals and anxiety. Everyone was excited for me. I wasn’t excited about the guy, just the event.

The possibility of a new relationship...

Potential new beau? Or just potential?

I am so out of practice. I had been in a relationship for the past five years, so my normal answer to such a question would have been no. It reminded me of Carrie and the politician, right after her Big breakup…in more ways than one. After giving out my telephone number (which I haven’t done in a number of years), there were a dozen sweet things happening (like a thank you for your number text), and some weird ones (like telling me almost everyone was going to hell).

Overall, I think it means that the hope of a romantic future is not far-fetched. It’ll just take practice and openness. And people not being crazy.

